Mauritius – February 5-14

I just love my 7 weeks vacation.  When I add that to the two Eid breaks, it’s  9 weeks in a year.  Mind you, I don’t get a break at Christmas, but I guess that’s the price.

This last week, we had a one day national holiday on February 10th – Sports Day.  The government is trying to increase the physical activity of its citizens/ residents and trying to set it self up at the same time as a world class sports venue.

So, but taking 4 days vacation, I got an 8-day/9-night vacation out of the deal.  My vacation goals this time were:

  1. Go somewhere I’ve never been that is not easy to get to from Canada
  2. Go somewhere I can totally relax
  3. Go somewhere ‘normal.’

I got all of that at a resort in Mauritius.  It was a 6+1 hour overnight flight from Doha via Dubai.  I left at the end of the work week, on Thursday night and arrived in Mauritius The next morning.  I’ve eaten well (too well), tried great rum (too much), enjoyed the spa (too expensive) and the sun (I got my full dose of Vitamin D during an aquacize class the first day).

I stayed at the Club Med Plantation d’Albion – one hour from the airport on the other side of the island and a half hour south of the capital Port Louis.

It was beautiful.  However, Mauritius has become a bit of a flora/fauna experiment gone wrong.

Mauritius was once the home of the now extinct Dodo.  The first colonizers (Dutch) in the 1600’s prized this flightless, turkey-sized bird for it’s meat.  And guess what – it was named the Dodu (with means stupid), because  it did not run away from man, It could not fly and laid its eggs in a nest on the ground.  An unfortunate recipe for disaster.  The Dodo had a role in distributing the seeds of a beautiful white barked tree.  The last few remaining on the island are more than 400 years old.  There are no others.  It too will go extinct soon.

The land there was cleared for the purpose of sugar cane production and all the labour came from India, Africa and China.  The makeup of the island reflects that now and I had the privilege

of visiting a Hindu Temple which had as its backdrop a sacred lake.  It was just days before a major festival and people from all over the island were walking to the lake (from kilometres away) to make their sacrifices to Shiva.  It was beautiful and so colourful.

There’s too much to write about and I think the pictures will help explain what I saw.  Enjoy!

My view from my room IMG_2868 IMG_2873 IMG_2875 IMG_2896 IMG_2906 IMG_2915 IMG_2918 IMG_2926 IMG_2930 IMG_2939 IMG_2956 IMG_2978 IMG_2979 IMG_2980 IMG_2981 IMG_2982 IMG_2983 IMG_2996

Leave a Reply

